Sexually Sober

Tim Varner
3 min readJan 26, 2021
Photo by Erik Lucatero on Unsplash

Addiction has posed a struggle in every aspect of my life as it does in every pursuer. From failed attempts to last friends, broken relationships, and disastrous reality. None the less, getting sober is the right decision for all.

Focusing on the relationship aspect of recovery, I have begun thinking of every part of life that has been disrupted. When I was heavy in my addiction I was the “Playboy” many associate with partying. Waking up in beds across the county, one-night stands, and the need to relearn a name were part of my daily activities.

When I met my wife and my forever, I attempted to put that all behind while continuing the destruction of my well-being. During my active addiction, we were always physical and rarely had a “boring” night. From complete obsession to out-of-character fetishes that would turn a blind man’s eye, it was never a dull moment in our blossoming love.

With my final arrest and the decision to leave my destruction behind, I began a life of recovery and solace. Attempting to regain trust and love in my relationship posed harder than putting down the bottle but was definitely worth fighting for. As our relationship was able to rejuvenate, we also saw a decline in our “activities”. No longer were we thrashing each other about and exploding into the realm of Nirvana. We were simply together and shared a bed.

--

--

Tim Varner

Intriguing creativity with a darkened sense of belonging